Gun Permit Processing Changes:
The Chisago County Sheriff’s Office lobby closed on Tuesday March 17, 2020 due to concerns about the COVID-19 pandemic. The health of our staff as well as our citizens in the public is paramount to our agency and necessary to keep essential functions of law enforcement up and running during these difficult times. While this definitely changes some things from a day to day operations stand point, we are still doing our best to allow opportunities for members of the public to continue to submit gun permits to our Office for processing, but those steps will look a little different.
Moving forward, you will be able to respond to the Chisago County Sheriff’s Office, which is located at 15230 Per Road, and respond to the main entrance, which is located on the northeast corner of the complex. Upon entering the vestibule, you will see an intercom speaker and button. After pressing the button, a member of the Jail Division will be able to allow you in and direct you to their location. There is a pass through that you can put your paperwork through.
Here is what YOU are responsible to bring to get a permit processed:
- Your completed permit application, signed in all three places with the current date.
- A paper copy of your driver’s license – WE WILL NOT COPY FOR YOU
- Must have current address or proper paperwork from Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV)
- A copy of your permit to carry course completion certificate
- Certificates must be dated within one year from today’s date
- Permits to Purchase can still be emailed or sent via US Mail.
Please Email Toni Schwartz PRIOR to submitting ANY paperwork, regardless of the type of permit, to ensure an accurate and smooth process. She will work with you to confirm that you have all necessary documents completed and will provide the exact payment amount.
Effective March 20, 2020, payments for gun permits may also be made via our Online Payment LINK. Again, please coordinate with Toni Schwartz on this to know the amount you should be making.
Permits take up to 30 days to process and are mailed. Receipts for payment will either be mailed with the permit or emailed to the applicant, but not issued at the time of application and payment drop off.
Permits can only be renewed 90 days in advance
Any and all questions pertaining to gun permits should be directed via Email Toni Schwartz.
Minnesota law requires that individuals follow certain procedures in order to establish eligibility to obtain, transfer and carry a handgun. Follow the guidelines outlined below to acquire the appropriate permits.
For questions regarding gun permits, please call the Sheriff's Office at 651-213-6305.
Handgun Purchases or Transfers
Under Minnesota law, handgun transfers involve any sale, gift, loan, assignment or other delivery to another person. If you possess a valid permit to carry a handgun, that permit constitutes a permit to purchase. You don't need to apply for a separate permit to purchase.
There are 2 options for individuals wishing to purchase or transfer a handgun. They are outlined below:
- If you agree to purchase a handgun from someone and you have not obtained a permit to purchase, the individual selling or transferring the handgun to you must report the potential transaction to either the local police department or the sheriff's office if there is no police department in the municipality where you live. Once the law enforcement agency receives the transfer / purchase agreement, the agency has 5 days to determine whether you are eligible to possess a handgun.
- If you want to make a one-time purchase of a handgun from a dealer, and you do not have a permit to purchase, you may apply directly at the gun shop where you will purchase the handgun. The gun shop will require you to complete a consent form that allows them to conduct a name and date of birth background check to determine your eligibility to purchase a gun. The gun shops are entitled to charge a fee for this service.
For additional information pertaining to handgun legislation, refer to the following state laws or call the office of the Minnesota Attorney General at 651-296-7575.
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.7131 - Transferee permit; penalty
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.7132 - Report of transfer
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.714 - Carrying of weapons without permit; penalties
Permit to Purchase / Transfer a Firearm
Residents who reside within the city limits of North Branch, Lindstrom, Wyoming and Chisago city should apply for a Gun Permit to Purchase at their respective police departments. All other Chisago County Residents may pick up an application at the Sheriff's Office between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday or download an application from this website.
- Applications must be delivered in person to the Sheriff's Office and signed in front of an office staff member. A Driver's License copy showing current address must also be provided at this time.
- Permits to Purchase a Firearm must be renewed every 12 months.
The law enforcement agency will conduct a series of background related checks to assure you meet the eligibility requirements established in state law. Once those checks are complete, a permit will be issued that is valid for one year and may be used to purchase a handgun statewide.
Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun
Permits to carry a pistol are issued by Minnesota County Sheriffs.
Under Minnesota Law, individuals must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. (Note: There is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed.) A Permit to Carry Constitutes a Permit to Purchase. To obtain a Permit to Carry, follow the procedure below:
- Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
- Individuals wishing to obtain a permit to carry must fill out the "Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application - Permit to Carry a Pistol" below and submit it in person to the sheriff's office in the county where they reside.
- Applicants must provide proof that they have taken a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Handgun Course with an instructor that is Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) Certified and that it meets Minnesota Statute 624.714, Subdivision 2(a). The course includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force. Training must occur within 12 months of applying for permit.
- In Chisago County, these applications will only be accepted between the hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
- The permit to carry application fee in Chisago County is $100 and is valid for 5 years. It authorizes unlimited purchases within that time period.
- The permit to carry application renewal fee in Chisago County is $75 if you apply before your permit expires. If you are within 30 days from when your permit expired the permit to carry application renewal fee in Chisago County is $85.
- Once received, the office has 30 days to process the application.
- A Permit to Carry issued in Minnesota is valid throughout Minnesota.
- Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application - Permit to Carry a Pistol (PDF)
- Minnesota BCA website for additional information on Permit to Carry