Water Plan Policy Team


The Water Plan Policy Team meetings are held:
  • 3:00 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday in the months of:
    • January
    • March
    • May
    • July
    • September
    • November
  • Household Hazardous Waste Facility in North Branch
Special meetings are also called if the need arises.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available before the meetings. Minutes are available for review following approval.
Most Recent AgendaAll Agendas


The Water Plan Policy Team has 9 members representing various groups and departments as follows:
  • Citizens
  • Chisago County Board of Commissioners
  • Chisago County Department of Environmental Services/Zoning
  • Chisago County Department of Public Health
  • Chisago County Soil and Water Conservation District
The 5 Citizen At-Large members are appointed to 3 year terms by the County Board of Commissioners:
Diane Larkin  Term: 03/16/2016 - 03/16/2019
John Eret Term: 01/20/2016 - 01/20/2019
Donna Nowicki Term: 07/05/2017 - 07/05/2020
Frank Storm Term: 01/05/2016 - 01/05/2019
Paul Sandel Term: 08/01/2018 - 08/01/2021

The agency positions on the Policy Team and Technical Team are filled by staff. The Policy Team also has a technical team represented as follows:
  • Chisago County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Comfort Lake Forest Lake Watershed District
  • Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
  • Minnesota Department of Health
  • Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
The technical team advises the Policy Team on issues relating to their areas of expertise.


The purpose of the Chisago County Local Water Management Plan is to set County watershed priorities. The County will use these priorities to obtain and use resources to protect, improve, and conserve water resources in Chisago County including lakes, rivers, wetlands, and groundwater.


The mission of the Water Plan Policy Team is to develop, update, and oversee implementation of the Chisago County Water Plan.

Natural Resources Block Grant

Each year, Chisago County receives funds from the Natural Resources Block Grant (NRBG) administered by the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources. The NRBG is a composite of base grants available to counties that help implement programs designed to protect and improve water resources. Individual programs under this grant include:

  • Comprehensive Local Water Management
  • Shoreland Management
  • Subsurface Sewage Treatment System (SSTS) Program
  • Wetland Conservation Act.